We know that there is more that can be done to turn its misfortunes around. People were charged extra money to share their passwords with other people. Next year, there will be an additional password-sharing fee for US users of the service.
This is being tested in South America byNetflix. Users who wanted to share their passwords would have to pay an extra fee. Many people will uninstall your accounts rather than cough up more money. This isn’t something that the company didn’t expect.
US Netflix users will need to pay a password sharing fee
They were only testing in South America. According to The Wall Street Journal, this feature is being prepared for a broader audience. The streaming giant will charge American customers early next year, according to The Source. It won’t be much of a wait because it is late December. Users may have to pay an additional $3/month for their service when that happens. That will make it the most expensive when it goes up to $22.50 a month.
How would this work? We don’t know how this will work in the US, but we think it will be similar to how it is handled in South America. The company keeps track of account activity. When it discovers that someone is using someone else’s account, it will block access for that person.
An additional package will be added to the account holder’s plan at that point. A verification code will be given to the account holder. The verification code is supposed to be sent to the other person. The account holder will send a verification code to the other user, which will allow them to access the content.
People don’t take kindly to this. Many users share their passwords with friends and family. We know a lot of people will drop their subscriptions.